2018 Green Room Awards to be held soon

Posted on: 6/4/2018 8:00AM

Melanie Lane and Lilian SteinerThe 2018 Green Room Awards will be held at Melbourne’s Comedy Theatre on Monday, April 9. The peer-presented, performing arts industry awards recognise excellence and innovation across a range of categories, including Cabaret, Contemporary and Experimental Performance, Dance, Independent Theatre, Music Theatre, Opera and Theatre Companies.


A total of 64 awards will be presented at this year’s Green Room Awards ceremony, including awards for Technical Achievement and Lifetime Achievement.


"Once again the Green Room Awards recognises and celebrates the extraordinary creativity of people across the performing arts," said Hilary Glow, president of the Green Room Awards Association. "This year I am delighted to welcome our new partners, Arup and Creative Victoria. Both organisations have come on board to help the Green Room Awards support innovation and talent in our sector."


The Green Room Awards, now in its 35th year, will feature spectacular live performances and award presentations by an array of dazzling artists.


See below for the 2018 Dance Nominees. For the full list of nominees, visit www.greenroom.org.au.




Female Performer 

- Marlo Benjamin – Anti-Gravity (Chunky Move)

- Lilian Steiner (Year’s work)

- Melanie Lane – Split (Lucy Guerin Inc)

- Tara Jade Samaya – Be Yourself (Australian Dance Theatre)

- Samantha Hines (Year’s work)


Male Performer 

- Kevin Jackson (Year’s work)

- Kimball Wong – Be Yourself (Australian Dance Theatre)

- Jack Ziesing – Pile of Bones (Stephanie Lake)

- Beau Dean Riley Smith – Bennelong (Bangarra Dance Theatre)

- Harrison Ritchie-Jones – Pile of Bones (Stephanie Lake)


Ensemble, Duo or Trio  

- Split (Lucy Guerin Inc)

- Between Tiny Cities (Nick Power)

- Bennelong (Bangarra Dance Theatre)

- Ever (Phillip Adams BalletLab)


Visual Design

- Fausto Brusamolino (Light & Mist Design), Boris Morris Bagattini (Video & Light Design), Victoria Hunt (Object Design, Costume Design), Clare Britton (Object Design), Annemaree Dalziel (Costume Design), Justine Shih Pearson (Costume Design) - Tangi Wai ... the cry of water (Victoria Hunt)

- Prue Lang (Concept), Jenny Hector (Lighting Design), Fozia Akalo (Costume Design) - Stellar Project (Prue Lang)

- Ben Cobham (Set & Light Design) - In Plan (Michelle Heaven)

- Ben ‘Bosco’ Shaw (Light Design) - Attractor (Dancenorth, Gideon Obarzanek and Lucy Guerin Inc)


Composition/Sound Design 

- Scanner (composition) and Robin Fox (Sound Design) - Split (Lucy Guerin Inc)

- James Brown (Sound Design) - Tangi Wai ... the cry of water (Victoria Hunt)

- Senyawa (Rully Shabara, Wukir Suryadi) – Attractor (Dancenorth, Gideon Obarzanek and Lucy Guerin Inc)

- (((20hz))) – Number of the Machine (Antony Hamilton)


Shirley McKechnie Award for Excellence in Choreography

- Lucy Guerin – Split (Lucy Guerin Inc)

- Phillip Adams – Ever (Phillip Adams BalletLab)

- Alice Topp – Little Atlas as part of Symphony in C (The Australian Ballet)


Concept and Realisation

- Split (Lucy Guerin Inc)

- Tangi Wai ... the cry of water (Victoria Hunt)

- Number of the Machine (Antony Hamilton)

- In Plan (Michelle Heaven)


Photo: Melanie Lane and Lilian Steiner in Lucy Guerin’s Split. Photo by Gregory Lorenzutti.



  • Monthly Magazine Updates
  • Access Audition Listings
  • Access Dance Event Listings
  • Enter Giveaways & Comps!