2013 Australian Dance Awards announced!

Sydney Dance Company wins big at 2013 Australian Dance AwardsThe 2013 Australian Dance Awards have been announced! The winners were announced to much acclaim on Monday evening during the awards ceremony at Canberra Theatre Centre.


Here are the winners (starred and in bold), along with the original shortlisted nominees:


Outstanding Achievement in Youth or Community Dance

– Dancenorth for Small Dance//Big Stories

– fLing Physical Theatre for The idea of South

– Steps Youth Dance for TRY HARD

*Tracks Dance Company for Eight to Eighty – Architecture of Age


Services to Dance Education

– Dancenorth & Raewyn Hill

*Jackie Hallahan

– Vicki Thompson


Outstanding Achievement in Choreography

*Rafael Bonachela for 2 One Another [Sydney Dance Company]

– Kate Champion for Never Did Me Any Harm [Force Majeure and Sydney Theatre Company]

– Anouk van Dijk for An Act of Now [Chunky Move]

– Antony Hamilton for Black Project 1 [Antony Hamilton Projects]

– Frances Rings for Terrain [Bangarra Dance Theatre]


Outstanding Achievement in Dance on Film or New Media

– Richard Allen for Monk: Reloaded

Peter Greig for Sharing Spaces: A Day In The Life

*Sue Healey for Virtuosi

Claire Marshall for Pulse


Outstanding Performance in Commercial Dance or Musical Theatre

– Leah Howard for Mary Poppins

Sian Johnson for A Chorus Line

*The Company for Tap Dogs


Services to Dance

– *Shane Carroll

– Geoff Cobham

– David McAllister AM

– Michael Pearce


Outstanding Achievement in Independent Dance

– *Antony Hamilton for Black Project 1

Sue Healey for Variant

Jade Dewi Tyas Tunggal for Opal Vapour

Lisa Wilson for Lake


Outstanding Performance by a Female Dancer

– Sue Peacock for Harakiri [STRUT Dance]

– Rachel Rawlins for Swan Lake [The Australian Ballet]

– Vivienne Wong for Warumuk—in the dark night [The Australian Ballet]

*Charmene Yap for 2 One Another [Sydney Dance Company]


Outstanding Performance by a Male Dancer

– Wen Chen for 2 One Another [Sydney Dance Company]

– Daniel Riley McKinley for Terrain [Bangarra Dance Theatre]

– James O’Hara for There’s Definitely a Prince Involved [The Australian Ballet]

– Paul White for Anatomy of an Afternoon [Martin del Amo and Performing Lines]

*Kimball Wong for Proximity [Australian Dance Theatre]


Outstanding Performance by a Company

– Australian Dance Theatre for Proximity

Australian Dance Theatre for Be Your Self

Bangarra Dance Theatre for Terrain

*Sydney Dance Company for 2 One Another


Congratulations to all the winners! Thank you for your contribution to Australian dance!


Photo: Sydney Dance Company performing 2 One Another. Photo by Ken Butti.